2013 Rockefeller Center Christmas Tree Lighting

Will you be in New York for the holiday season? What’s Christmas in the Big Apple if you don’t visit the Rockefeller Center Christmas tree. This year the ceremonial lighting will take place on the evening of Wednesday, December 4th, 2013 and will mark the event’s 81st anniversary.  The famous tree will remain lit and be viewed into the New Year until 11 p.m. on Tuesday, January 7, 2014.

New York looks even better at night with breathtaking lights.  If you’re going to be in Manhattan this winter, don’t forget to check out our Holiday Lights tour, which starts in November.

The event is a free event and you do not need tickets to attend.  Be sure to show up early to get the best spots!

**Updated for 2013**

40 comments

  1. Hi there just wanted to give you a quick heads up.
    The words in your article seem to be running off the screen
    in Chrome. I’m not sure if this is a format issue or something to do with web browser compatibility but I figured I’d post to let you know.
    The layout look great though! Hope you get the problem
    resolved soon. Many thanks

    1. I do not believe the tree has been selected yet, but traditionally it is a Norway Spruce found in the Northeast US. Recently the tree has been in the 70+ foot range in height, but past trees have reached as high as 100 feet. We’ll update the blog when we get word on the official tree.

    1. You do not need tickets for this event! Just make sure that you arrive early (like 3, 4 p.m. early) and dress warm, otherwise you’ll end up really far away :/

  2. Where can I purchase tickets. I go every year and I want to be where the performers will be performing. Cause they carry like a special pass on their necks.

  3. Do you know which restaurants offer packages to watch the tree lighting? Or at least those in the area where you can do so?

  4. My daughter and I are planning to go there for 10:00am. Will we get a spot right near the rink if we go this early. I have heard rumors that you need tickets to get this close up. Is that true?

  5. Hi I would like to know how to get those passes people wear around their neck that allows them to cut the huge line to see the lighting.
    Thanks
    Omar vasquez

    1. That is great to hear. What I reported is what I’ve been told by people close with Rock Center, which is that they are only available to certain individuals. How did your friend come across the VIP passes?

  6. Does anyone know how to get into the concert? I was planning on getting there as early as 1 PM to get up close to the concert. However last year, I tried getting into the concert but didn’t know how to get in and it was around 5 PM. Where am I supposed to enter?

    1. Off hand I do not know, but I doubt that this will be allowed since so many people will be in attendance. I’ll see if I can find a more accurate answer and get back to you.

Leave a comment