Review: Bronx Loop Double-Decker Bus Tour

Yankee Stadium

Every week, Gray Line New York will be highlighting a “Partner of the Week” on our blog. We are going to provide a review for a new partner’s product and share our own insights and experiences. This week, we are diving into one of  our own products, the brand new Bronx Loop.

I was excited to go on the Gray Line New York Bronx Loop not only because it is new, but because it also included the Uptown Loop, which I have yet to experience- Not to mention I am a huge Yankee fan and any opportunity to see the stadium is exciting for me.

Before we get to the Bronx Loop, I first got on an Uptown Loop bus and took the first half of that route. Right from Times Square, I hopped on the Uptown bus with dozens of excited tourists. I was just as excited as everyone else and immediately went up the stairs to the top deck of the bus to ensure the best views possible. Even though it was slightly chilly and windy, I have zero regrets about this decision.

columbus circle

Columbus Circle

Uptown Manhattan is personally one of my favorite areas in the city because of its historical and architecturally great buildings and this tour only enhanced my adoration for the Upper West Side. We were taken around the Upper West Side passing views from Central Park to the Hudson River. I enjoyed learning where famous people lived and seeing great landmarks which I have never gotten the chance to see or learn about such as, The Cathedral of St. John the Divine and the General Grant National Memorial.

Upon arriving to the Harlem Market, it was time for me to hop off the Uptown bus and get on a bus to the Bronx. I had a few minutes to spare which was great because I got to walk through the markets and browse through the unique cultural items featured, from handmade jewelry to purses and scarves. After I was done looking, I hopped on the Bronx Loop bus and took a ride through the Bronx to Yankee Stadium. Prior to the arrival at the stadium, I enjoyed learning about the diverse cultures that subside in the Bronx and the art and history contained in the northern borough.

Once arriving at the Yankee Stadium stop, we had about 20 minutes to explore the surrounding areas, so I hopped off and took several pictures of the new stadium. I noticed their official store was open, so I walked through the store and found dozens of trinkets decked out in Yankee logos. After purchasing a shirt, I made it back to the bus just in time for departure.

Central Park West

Central Park West

In no time, we made it back to the Harlem Markets to transfer back onto the Uptown Loop. The remainder of the Uptown Loop took us back down on 5th Avenue to see the beauty of this side of the city. I was able to see many parts of the Park that I have never gotten the chance to see before. The beauty of the park during this early spring time fascinated me and caught my interest. We also passed The Guggenheim Museum and the Metropolitan Museum of Art, which are both incredible museums to see and easily hop off to visit.

Arriving back in Times Square, I got off the bus overwhelmed with images and thoughts about my experiences of Uptown and the Bronx that afternoon. I am sure that the pictures that I took and my review of these tours do not compare to my actual experience. Whether you are visiting New York for the first time, or you have lived here your whole life, the bus tour is an experience that is both extremely informative and eye-opening. I recommend you take a tour for yourself to fully understand what I am talking about.

To pre-purchase tickets for the Bronx Loop, visit our website now:  Bronx Loop Tickets

Review and photos by Megan Ryan

Leave a Reply

