Review: Madame Tussauds Wax Museum

The Beatles, Madame Tussaud's NYC

The Beatles, Madame Tussauds NYC

Every Monday, Gray Line New York will be highlighting a “Partner of the Week” on our blog. We are going to provide a review for a new partner’s product and share our own insights and experiences. This week, our Partner of the Week is Madame Tussauds Wax Museum.

If you’re unaware that Madame Tussauds is one of the most exciting museums in New York City, I am about to tell you why. The museum is filled with countless lifelike and life-size wax figures of famous people from history, pop culture, politic, sports and more. When I was given the chance to spend the afternoon with these prominent icons, I was beyond excited.

Michael Jordan

Michael Jordan

The greatest part of walking through this extremely real experience was being able to take pictures with and of whatever I wanted. I walked past the box office line, since I purchased my ticket ahead of time, and began walking up the stairs to the start of the exhibit. After taking a picture with the Incredible Hulk, I anxiously awaited my elevator ride up to the roof-top party with the most famous Hollywood stars. This was a giant room where I felt under-dressed and embarrassingly a bit star-struck. With wax figures like Johnny Depp, Brad Pitt, Angelina Jolie, and The Osbourne’s, I could not stop taking pictures.

Each exhibit and room was so unique in a way that none of my excitement died down at all through my journey. My roof-top with the stars was only the start. I continued into a political exhibit where I saw up-close American presidents throughout history, leading up to President Obama. I also saw Prince William and wife Kate Middleton, Martin Luther King Jr. and Gandhi. Every single wax figure was mind-blowingly realistic I could not believe how magnificent they were.

Other exhibits that followed were walks through sports, music, and Hollywood timelines. People old and new were featured in each exhibit and each wax figure had a description of why there are famous. I enjoyed the fact that the museum wasn’t a place to just take pictures and look, but a place to learn more about famous heroes and stars all in one afternoon.

will and kate

William and Kate

Some things that I liked which Madame Tussauds included throughout the museum were “Wax Figure Facts.” These facts gave interesting and also amazing facts behind creating a wax figure. To learn about the time, money, and technique used in each wax figure came across as extremely interesting to me. I have always wondered how the features were so alike to the real-life person, and Madame Tussaud’s enlightened my curiosity.

I had visited the Wax Museum years ago, but it has changed dramatically since then. The updates, the exhibit changes and the new and renewed wax figures featured in the wax museum made this second visit worthwhile. So even if you have been through this museum before or haven’t been at all, I can guarantee that when you go and see for yourself, you will find yourself star-struck by a few of your most idolized stars.

To pre-purchase tickets for the Metropolitan Museum of Art and skip the line in the beginning, visit our website now: Madame Tussauds Tickets

Leave a Reply

