Review: The Metropolitan Museum of Art

Every Monday, Gray Line New York will be highlighting a “Partner of the Week” on our blog. We are going to provide a review for a new partner’s product and share our own insights and experiences. This week, our Partner of the Week is the Metropolitan Museum of Art.

Met museum of art

They’re not kidding when they say that The Metropolitan Museum of Art is the largest museum in the United States. With the largest range of art collections I have ever seen, The Met gave me plenty of opportunities to see different kinds of art work that caught my attention and interest.

One thing that I admired early on in my trip is that The Met is beautiful inside and out. Located on the Upper East Side on the edge of Central Park, the large building comes off as magnificent, no matter the time of year. The buildings architecture, the trees of Central Park, and the surrounding buildings of the Upper East Side allow this to be one of the most pleasant areas in Manhattan.

met 3After I was done obsessing over the architecture outside, I realized I had so much more waiting inside for me. The inside was just as astonishing as the outside. Intimidated by the size and vastness of the lobby, I grabbed a map at the info desk to figure out where I wanted to go and what I wanted to see. I realized there were numerous exhibits and collections to see that looking at the map, The Met seemed like a city in itself. They display Arts of the Americas, Africa, Asia, Oceania, Egyptian, European, Greek, Roman, Medieval, Modern, and Contemporary. I had the chance to explore my current interests, or learn and see art that I was never given the opportunity to before.

I headed to the Greek and Roman Art section first for which displayed countless sculptures, paintings and vases. What I found most remarkable was that many of the pieces were dated back to before the Greek and Roman empires. I saw collections dated all the way back to the mid-third millennium BC, which I didn’t even know such objects existed before my visit to The Met. To have so many collections in one place dating back so far felt like a privilege to experience.

met 2After spending some of my time soaking in Greek and Roman Art, I decided to head upstairs to the musical instruments collection. As I mentioned before, The Met has numerous collections so there really is something to fill every visitor’s interests. One of mine happens to be music, so I took advantage of this collection. After walking through here, I knew that you did not have to be the world’s biggest music fan to appreciate this collection. The beautiful pieces included pianos, guitars, violins, a variety of string instruments and more. The assortments ranged from ancient to modern musical instruments. Containing pieces from all over the world, the detail and beauty in each piece is righteous.

The collection that I knew I could not leave without seeing was the Department of Arms and Armor. One of the coolest figures I saw at The Met was in this section. The armed figures on horseback, located in the center of this gallery, were an awesome display. They were magnificent to look at up-close and far away from the balconies over-looking it. The surrounding décor and artistry in this section were exciting to see since it contained pieces from the late medieval European period and 5th through 19th centuries of the Japanese periods.

As it would be nearly impossible for me to explain or even list all the incredible works of art in The Metropolitan Museum of Art, I highly recommend visiting to see for yourself. The collections are countless and I did not come across one part of the museum that was not beautiful. However, I recommend grabbing a map once you get there because you most likely will get lost in this small, indoor city.

To pre-purchase tickets for the Metropolitan Museum of Art and skip the line in the beginning, visit our website now: Tickets to The Met

 

Leave a Reply

